Wiltshire Music Centre with Tom Poster

21 October 2016

Wiltshire Music Centre

Ashley Road, Bradford on Avon, Wiltshire, BA15 1DZ

  • Knussen: …upon one note (Fantazia after Purcell)
  • Schubert: Piano Quintet in A major, D667 ‘Trout’
  • Septet: Septet in E flat major, Op. 20

Tickets: £18 (under 25s free)

Pre-concert talk with members of the ensemble at 6.30pm.

For more information and to book tickets please click here.

The Berkeley Ensemble returns to the Wiltshire Music Centre and are joined by internationally acclaimed pianist Tom Poster for a concert presenting two masterworks from revolutionary Vienna. Written just twenty years apart, Schubert’s Trout Quintet and Beethoven’s Septet are united by their pioneering instrumental groupings, and evoke a golden age of chamber music-making. Knussen’s reimagining of Purcell recalls a more distant world in its dreamlike rendering of the elder composer’s most celebrated work for viols.