Cheltenham Music Festival

Cheltenham Music Festival

17 July 2016

Pittville Pump Room, Oval Room

Ravel: Introduction and Allegro
Poulenc: Un soir de neige
Michael BerkeleyTouch Light
Colin Matthews: Five Concertinos (to Henri Dutilleux)
Michael Berkeley: Clarinet Quintet
Lennox BerkeleyStabat Mater

Despite being regarded as one of his finest works, the unusual line-up of eleven instruments and six singers for Lennox Berkeley’s Stabat Mater has led it to be seldom heard since its premiere by Benjamin Britten’s English Opera Group in 1947. In this rare performance, the ensemble is joined by the Marion Consort and David Wordsworth to bring Berkeley’s tour de force back to life, in a programme which acknowledges the composer’s connection with France – where he studied in the 1930s – and with his son Michael.

More information and tickets from Cheltenham Music Festival

Read Article →