Voices: Elsewhere and elsewhen

Voices: Elsewhere and elsewhen

3 April 2017
7:45 pm

Hull Chamber Music

The Middleton Hall, University of Hull, HU6 7RX

  • Maurice Ravel: Introduction  and Allegro
  • Luciano Berio: Sequenza IXa for clarinet
  • Bela Bartok: Violin duos (selection)
  • Igor Stravinsky: Three Shakespeare Songs
  • Claude Debussy: Danses sacrée et profane
  • Luciano Berio: Violin duos (selection)
  • Luciano Berio: Folksongs

With Anna Huntley, mezzo-soprano

In collaboration with the Musical Cultures Conference, the Berkeley Ensemble return to Hull University with a wide-ranging programme, which explores the ‘voices’ of the ensemble’s various instruments.

Ravel’s Introduction and Allegro for harp, flute, clarinet and string quartet was written to demonstrate the Érard company’s pre-eminent pedal harp design, enriching its repertoire and accepted voice along the way. Berio’s Sequenza for Clarinet looks back on its own instrument’s wide-ranging voice as conceived by artists from Mozart to Benny Goodman, whilst Stravinsky’s late settings of Shakespeare make something rich and strange of familiar texts.

Tickets: £14 (concessions £5) available online culturenet.co.uk, by email face-events@hull.ac.uk or by phone 01482 465998.

Pre-concert talk, 6.45pm: Members of the ensemble talk about the evening’s programme

Read Article →