Arundel Festival: Mozart, Britten and Berkeley

23 August 2016

St.Leonard’s Church
South Stoke, nr. Arundel, West Sussex

  • Britten: Three Divertimenti
  • Mozart: Horn Quintet in E-flat K. 407
  • Lennox Berkeley: Three Pieces for solo viola
  • Mozart: Divertimento for string trio in E-flat K. 563

Tickets: available online from Chichester Tickets

The ensemble is joined in its first performance at the Arundel Festival by acclaimed horn player Pip Eastop in Mozart’s richly scored Horn Quintet, which includes two violas rather than violins in its string quartet. The viola is the sole protagonist of Berkeley’s recently discovered Three Pieces, the manuscript of which was found in the pages of a second-hand book. Mozart’s Divertimento completes the programme, a work whose diverting title belies one of its author’s most sublime creations.

In association with the Hanover Band